January 2012 Weddings

Need to vent and need advice

I really need to vent about my career situation. In 2010, I was laid off of my teaching job where I taught for three years. We had a budget reduction and my district had to let 110 positions/people go. Only 6 of them were actual teachers, the rest were cafeteria workers, grounds keepers, etc. The first two years I was there I had great teaching observations and no problems. My third year I had an issue that went into my file (a student harassed me, jumping on me, but my principal turned it around and blamed me after the parent complained.) Also, my last observation wasn't good. Anyhow, I was let go due to the budget and not due to performance. 

Now, here we are almost 2 years later, and there are 6 openings in this district for writing coaches. I am very qualified for this not only because I have three years experiece teaching writing but because I have my master's in education and literacy. 

I applied for these positions but I haven't heard back from them yet. I emailed the superintendent but got an auto-response saying that he is out of the office until April 26. I also emailed the human resource manager but haven't heard anything. 

I feel like I have every right to be hired because of the way I was let go. What do you guys think?! Should I go into the district office on Monday? If so, what shoud I say or do? I am so upset over this. I really hope you guys can help me.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic Image and video hosting by TinyPic Image and video hosting by TinyPic Daisypath Anniversary tickers BabyFruit Ticker

Re: Need to vent and need advice

• Maybe call? or send another email asking if they need any other materials to be considered to be hired.

I understand your frustration on the job thing.
  • I am going to agree with Jen on this one.