Wedding Etiquette Forum

Money... Oh, goodness.

FI parents offered to contribute $5,000 to our wedding. Which was so very nice of them. However, ever since they stated this there hasn't been any money changing hands (either to FI or vendors). I am basing our search for venues and caterers and such based off of a total overall budget which includes their contribution but I don't know how or when it's appropriate to ask for them to pitch in!

Do I just ask them to write us a check and we'll give it out to vendors and such as necessary, or is this is situation where future MIL should come with to interview DJs or Caterers in order to provide them with the money herself.

I am not good at talking to people about money. If it were up to me it wouldn't be discussed at all because it makes me uncomfortable, but I am really scared to move forward and put deposits down with vendors without knowing if/when the extra funds will be available.

Any advice?

Re: Money... Oh, goodness.

• delujm0 said:

You don't ask them anything.  Have FI deal with his own parents directly.

Until you have the cash in your hands, don't count on getting it.  There have been a lot of brides on here that planned a wedding based on promised money that never wound up coming.

This exactly.

Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Plan the wedding you can afford to pay for yourself. The money isn't real until it is in your bank account. These boards are full of horror stories about well-meaning parents who didn't come through.
  • Thanks ladies! I really appreciate it. I kind of figured as much, but I guess this was all wishful thinking rather than reality. Haha!

• Just a slightly different piece of advice...