Chit Chat

A bit naive, but someone explain to me?

I understand and agree about not getting married before your wedding because it's unfair to guests. When people say that they want to actually came to the wedding to see the couple get married, what moment does the couple become married? 

I've seen couples do the whole ceremony, then sign the license after the guests have left the church. Isn't that paper the moment they become officially married? I've only been to 2 weddings, so I'm still learning.
~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ 
Funny Awkward animated GIF

Re: A bit naive, but someone explain to me?

• You are officially married once you have signed that piece of paper.
    Vows, are nice, but secondary to the legal aspect...you cannot be legally wed without that paper.

Once it is signed, you are husband and wife.
  • The couple "gets married" when the officiant says, "By the power vested in me by blah blah blah I now pronounce you husband & wife/married/whatever."  But if they've already done that, then it's just playacting at the fake ceremony.

Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Well, the paperwork has to be filed after the fact with the court, so that's not the moment that makes it a marriage. The papers can't be filed without there being vows made and witnessed by a legal officiant (which in the U.S. includes ordained ministers) and whatever other witnesses required by state/county law. Therefore the ceremony officiated by the minister or judge or what-have-you is the moment a couple is considered wed, even though the papers may not be signed or completed until afterward.

The problem we have is when people try to say 'the papers' don't really mean anything and they're just 'getting that out of the way.' You do still have to indicate consent and commitment in order to file them, and even if you do that at the clerk of court in five minutes, it constitutes a wedding ceremony.