Students

School or Wedding?

I'm a university student working my way through and am constantly struggling with balancing my wedding planning and my studies and work. Should one take a back burner? Asking for personal experience/advice/etc. Thanks!

Re: School or Wedding?

• School first
    Wedding Countdown Ticker

• School should always come first. Your wedding can always be pushed back if need be, but your school cannot. You've already paid for your classes and you will regret it if you don't do as well because of your planning.

Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • I agree school should absolutely, always, unequivocally come first. Is your FI also in school? Can he take on some of the planning to help you out?
  • I don't think either has to take back-seat if you can get organized and practice some time management! I have been in a super-intense master's program the past 18 months and my wedding is only 1 month after graduation. It's totally possible! I have to catch my self to keep from getting distracted, and I do have a ton of help from my sister who has pitched in time to help with decorating ideas. I also would recommend a wedding planner. Doesn't have to be a super well-known or expensive planner - I'm paying less than $600 for mine who is wonderful, experienced, and building her new market after a relatively recent move. She tells me what I need to get done and when so I don't become lost and overwhelmed, and on the day of - I know she'll handle all the last minute things that I didn't ever have time or intuition to think about.... 

You're going to school so that you can have a better life - but I don't think that means you have to put off your whole life to have your wedding!