Texas-Dallas and Ft. Worth

Venue Help: Outdoor Wedding Under the Trees

jennykay85jennykay85 member
First Anniversary First Comment
edited April 2014 in Texas-Dallas and Ft. Worth
I'm posting because I really need help compiling a "short list" of venues to consider.

Vision and Basics:
I have a vision of getting married somewhere outside under the trees. I've always loved venturing off the paved path at walking trails, because that's where I find the true beauty of outdoors. For instance, the Dallas Arboretum is a lovely place, but with the exception of the stream through the middle, it's too manicured.
Guests: 50
Budget: Undecided, I'd like max $10k

The second factor, I work as a event planner for a corporation. Previously, I WAS the onsite staff at an event venue. I'm very accustomed to doing whatever I like in venues. For example, even up to doing the BYOB legwork for guests, only paying for servers licensed to pour. As you might imagine, this makes me seriously dissatisfied when looking at the "all inclusive" venues that seem to have a choose-your-adventure type checklist. (Only 5 caterers to choose from? They're going to price gouge me!) To contrast, the thought of Big Thicket on White Rock where I think we'd have to rent every stick of furniture and mop the floor when done.. would prefer something a tad less DIY.

Combining the vision with practicality, I'd like to have a wedding and reception outdoors under the trees, but at a venue with indoor space that has either lots of windows/doors that open out or a large covered awning area. Just in case weather doesn't cooperate. (Tenting seems to be a $$$$ extravagance I'm not ok with) 

Why am I asking for help?