Wedding 911
Options

How do I break the news to my Dad?

My mom and dad have been split since I was two years old, not too long after that they both re-married. Mom has stayed in that marriage since, while dad has re-married twice. I never got along with my step dad until I was about 9 and I started riding motorcycles, he finally had a way to relate to me. Ever since he has treated me like his own daughter, he has supported me, been to all of my events growing up, and is truly a father to me. Bio dad on the other hand was always in my life, but in a very monetary, non-personal way. I have heard him say things (he doesn't know I heard) about me, and I just don't think he deserves the honor of giving me away. For the past two years though we have tried to re-kindle our relationship and have done a very good job at doing so, coming from the previous situation we were in and I don't want to hurt his feelings. He is still my dad and I love him, but I think my step-dad is owed that respect and should be acknowledged for taking me under his wing. How do I go about breaking this to my bio dad? He has another daughter so its not like he will be missing out on this opportunity entirely, just not with me. I'm step-dad's only daughter. Do I offer a father daughter dance in lieu of? Not sure how to approach the situation.

Re: How do I break the news to my Dad?

• Options
    krash7v said: