June 2015 Weddings

Journey to get fit and toned for the dress

Hey everybody, my wedding is June 20, 2015. Im trying to lose about 15-20 pounds before my wedding. Anybody have any good tips on exercises, diets, weight loss tips or anything helpful. Would greatly appreciate it. Im a nurse and work nights so my schedule is kinda wacky and makes it hard to make it to the gym, so any suggestions on how to get fit at home is also greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Re: Journey to get fit and toned for the dress

• I am in the same boat but I would like to lose a little more than that.  They only diet that I've ever been successful with is low carb.  Once I start it's like it just melts away.  My schedule is crazy too.  I have a four year old and work an hour and a half ONE WAY from home!!!  I try to hit the gym for cardio when I don't have my daughter.  But I'll do other things like crunches, squats, planks while I'm watching tv.  Good Luck!
  • the only suggestion i have is try not to diet since most diets will fail. losing weight is about changing your lifestyle. eat healthy and try to squeeze in workouts whenever you can. you don't have to do it all in one spurt, you can space out 10 minute workouts here and there.
  • Thanks for the suggestions. Im looking into trying the 3 hour diet, where ur supposed to eat every 3 hours and you u use portion control. You have 3 meals about 450 cals, 2 snacks about 100 cals, and one dessert after dinner that's about 50 cals. Im also looking into purchasing that workout DVD the knot has, bridal bootcamp or something, since I dont have much time to hit the gym, plus Im going to try and walk my dog more too.
    Onlyjamielynn: I wish u the best of luck too. Will keep updates on the journey.
  • I just use the app "Lose it!" which makes you count calories. Plus: it's free. Con: it's tedious. But I did lose 17 lbs since April, so I'm going to keep with it!
  • alsunalsun member
    First Anniversary First Comment Name Dropper