Connecticut

WoodWinds or Farmington Club - im not in love with a venue :-(

Hello all! My fiance and I are looking at either WoodWinds in Bandford, CT or The Farmington Club in Farmington, CT. We are paying for the wedding ourselves. Every other friend of mine that has gotten engaged has found a place she LOVES. She They are also not paying for the wedding entirely. Needless to say, I have not found THE PLACE. As a teacher, I need to be married next summer (which ups costs, etc.) I was wondering if anyone had experience with WoodWinds or Farmington Club. My cons for both are below: Woodwinds is a tighter space. It does have a Saturday open for next summer. Farmington Club I really like the inside, and I've been to a really fun wedding there. but the ceremony and cocktail hour are next to their other banquet hall outside, and they are the only venue I know of that does not stagger. also, i would have to have my wedding on a friday here. Has anyone else never been IN LOVE with their venue??? I am seriously the only one and at this point all of my friends and family are mad at me bc I have not picked a place and I'm literally driving them crazy. I have been engaged for over 3 months. I am driving myself crazy - I have never had anxiety this bad and I know this is only the first step.

Re: WoodWinds or Farmington Club - im not in love with a venue :-(

• This is an international board, so very few of us will know which venues you're talking about.

But in general, don't worry about being IN LOVE with your venue.  Many brides come on TK and say the "perfect" venue doesn't fit their party, doesn't work with their time of day, whatever.  Well guess what... it's not perfect!  Falling in love with the look of a venue doesn't mean it will work.  So you are able to step back and make a more rational decision based on budget, schedule, and space rather than "ZOMG I love this one!"  Pick what works for you practically.