Wedding Hair, Makeup, & Beauty Forums

Trying Hair Extensions for the First Time...HELP!

I went for my hair trial, and the hairstylist recommended I get clip-in extensions since my hair is somewhat thin. I have never used or purchased hair extensions before, and don't know the first thing about them. I have a bunch of questions...How do you know what color to get? How long they should be? Whether you need one package or more? Are there a particular type to get if you want more volume or if you want more length? I would appreciate it if anyone has suggestions or recommendations for a particular brand, and a place to purchase them since they are so expensive. I've seen a few suggestions on here for Sally's, but when I went to the store, they have a bunch of different brands, lengths, and colors. I am very nervous to buy them since they are pricey and are non-returnable. I know I want human hair so it can be cut and styled, and I know I want clip-in extensions, but that's the extent of my knowledge. Any feedback, recommendations/suggestions are appreciated. Thanks in advance. Lisa

Re: Trying Hair Extensions for the First Time...HELP!

• I bought mine forever ago at Sallys, but I believe they were the Remy 18 inch by Euronext clip in hair extensions. They came in a box and had 4 tiny/small clips, then 4 other strands that were longer. I have thin hair and I just bought 1 package and the 1 package works just fine.

The length is completely dependent on you, and how long you want your hair. I had short hair, somewhere around my chin/midneck to just past at shoulders when I bought them, and I wanted past my shoulders and it did the trick. Sallys, has all different lengths and brands you just want to make sure its human hair, and read the reviews. As far as color goes, if you have a friend that is a hairstylist, or even the sally person, they could help you pick out a good color.