Wedding Reception Forum

Tipping musicians

We are hiring a musical group for our cocktail hour. After talking to several groups, we noted that all but one had a 2-hour minimum. We're fine with this, and picked the best group and will happily pay them for 2 hours even though, due to our timeline, we will only use them for 1-hour as this seems to be the norm. We've also let them know ahead of time we will only need them from 530-630pm, in case they want to book another gig later in the evening.

But we're unsure what the tipping etiquette is. Do we tip them at all, considering we are paying them for an hour we are not using them? Do we tip them 18% of their hourly rate (i.e. tip them for one hour)? Or do we tip them 18% of the entire (2-hour) bill?

Re: Tipping musicians

• As a musician myself I would absolutely not expect a tip - especially in this situation.  As a bride, I would not tip them.
  • I generally don't tip vendors beyond the contract specifications. The caterer/venue tend to have a tip built in to the price as do some others. If there is no tip mentioned, then I don't provide one, especially in a case like yours where they are getting an extra hour of pay for not working.
  • Huh - thanks for letting me know! Is it not the norm to tip musicians? I have no idea. But I assumed we would tip all of our vendors 18% barring some sort of disaster. But the fact that we're paying them for two hours when they'll only need to be at our venue for one makes me think this isn't completely necessary here. I just don't want to be an asshole. But I also don't want to be throwing money around like I'm playing monopoly.