Wedding Invitations & Paper
Options

2nd “wave” of invitations…

So I’m JUST getting started on this whole wedding planning stuff and I have an interesting question about invitations I wanted to ask you girls… maybe it’s something people already do, or maybe it’s just NOT appropriate, but the situation is this:

Say we have a REALLY tough time narrowing down our wedding guest list, but the absolute maximum amount of people we can have is 150. So we send out 150 invitations with a “relatively” early RSVP date. Then let’s say the RSVP date comes and we only have 110 people who RSVP’d. So technically that means we have room in our budget to invite 40 more guests… would it be okay to send out a “second wave” of invitations, and invite those 40 more people who for whatever reason couldn’t make it on our “first” invite list, but we still want there?

Has anyone done this, is this okay to do? Just wondering what you girls think! 

Re: 2nd “wave” of invitations…

• Options
    I thought it seemed kinda rude, but I also thought, if nobody knows which "list" they're on, why does it matter :P Also I thought if I'm going to pay for a 150 person wedding, I want 150 people to be there haha.
  • Options
    I thought it seemed kinda rude, but I also thought, if nobody knows which "list" they're on, why does it matter :P Also I thought if I'm going to pay for a 150 person wedding, I want 150 people to be there haha.
    No.  B-listing is so rude.  "Hey, you weren't good enough to be invited the first time around, but I need to fill these chairs, so come eat!"

And when your first RSVP deadline is 3 months before the wedding, I promise people will figure out what you're doing.

• Options

B-listing is rude. Someone will find out and share the news, trust me on that.

• Options