Oregon

Wedding Planner!

Are you guys planning on getting a wedding planner, or doing everything yourself?!
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Wedding Planner!

• edited December 2011

My mom and I are going back and forth right now on whether or not to get one. We are both really organized people and can throw a party with our eyes closed, but we know a wedding is a much bigger event. I would LOVE to get at least a day-of coordinator so family members can actually enjoy the day and not have to "work", but my hands are kind of tied financially (a.k.a. my parents are paying for the wedding- I'm a fresh out of grad. school teacher). I am hoping she comes around to the idea. Maybe some feedback on here will convince her how invaluable one would be! What are your thoughts??

• edited December 2011

When I was getting married there was a group of us that became good friends through this board and many of us swapped Day Of coordinating duties with one another.  You might see if there is another Knottie that would be interested in a similar arrangement- it worked out great for us!

Alternatively, Kami Aguilar at WedPortland offers Day-Of services, and she's great to work with.  It will absolutely be worth the money for you and your family to not have to worry about making sure things are done the way you want.

• evabo31evabo31 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Brian and I are paying for the wedding ourselves and have a strict budget to adhere to. (Mostly because I refuse to go into financial ruin over our wedding). I think we're going to go the "day of" coordinator route. This way everyone will be able to enjoy the day. 
    October 2011 Siggy: Wedding Preview
    Photobucket Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • edited December 2011
    I was very interested in a "day-of" coordinator as well.  I am on a tight budget and found that many of them charged upwards of $500 just for the day.  Yikes!