Wedding Woes

Do you think she *really* loves her job or is afraid of failure in the field she studied?

Dear Prudence, 
Like a lot of young adults, I’m a twentysomething woman with a pretty high student loan debt. I graduated from high school at a time when we were being told by everyone that any loans we took out for our educations we would be able to pay back right away. Now I know better. When I graduated university, I had trouble finding a job and ended up as a cashier in a large retail company. I kept the position while going to graduate school and working two other jobs. Three years after starting at the company I have a masters degree and some good experience in my field. I also have been promoted twice at my store, and broken into management. I love my job now. I’ve found it to be fast-paced, interesting, and a great use of my skills. This company has helped me grow personally and professionally, and I am so proud of what I’m accomplishing as a manager. I want to stay and continue to climb the ladder. Right now it doesn’t pay as much as I could get if I went on to the field I have a degree in, but I see so much more potential for growth than I did in my graduate assistantship. Lately I have been getting a lot of questions about when I plan to start my career and some condescending comments about how unimportant my job is. I’m also not sure if I’m making the wrong choice, and setting myself up for a life of debt. What do you think?

—On the Ladder

Re: Do you think she *really* loves her job or is afraid of failure in the field she studied?

• Does anyone keep the same career their entire lives anymore? Like, maybe in the same field, but not at the same place, right? 

So at some point, she will be changing jobs. Why doesn't she just wait till she hits a wall at this place, or the politics become not to her liking, or whatever? She has the degrees in her pocket, and now she has work experience, too. I don't see why it has to be either-or.