Registry and Gift Forum

So I've been saying I wouldn't register but...

Brace yourselves for the most first-world problem ever...

FMIL is really on my case about a registry. We're having a very small DW and I really don't anticipate gifts from, well, anyone who's attending, but she's claiming that (not invited) extended family want to buy stuff, etc., and is just adamant and was having NONE of my "Well, you know we live in a small apartment and I've been on my own for ten years and we really don't need anything." She is convinced that that's not a suitable answer and that "people" are specifically asking her for a registry and don't want to give cash or buy stuff we don't need...so, okay, FMIL, sure, but I'm kind of at a loss for what to put on the thing.

I'm an avid cook and I already have high-quality kitchen everything and all the gadgets I could need, tons of glassware/entertaining stuff, no room for china, have a bunch of small appliances, etc. So is it going to be really bizarre to have a registry with, like...a couple of vegetable peelers, some silicone baking mats, a few serving dishes, throw pillows, and some new sheets? I have a couple kitchen hand tools that are in need of replacing and I suppose new sheets are always nice, but we really just don't have the space or a big need for anything apart from some random items (new pastry crimper? Replacement whisk for my Kitchenaid?) Is it a faux pas to have just weird odd and ends on a registry and none of the usual stuff like flatware, glasses, towels, pots & pans?

I have no idea how many people are even going to buy us stuff, so I don't even know how much stuff I should put on this thing. I'm so lost.

Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: So I've been saying I wouldn't register but...