DIY Wedding Forum

How to do a DIY woodsy/enchanted forest themed wedding in a tent

I am not very good at doing arts and crafts, but I still love doing them. My fiance and I found a cheap place to do our wedding ceremony and reception at, but we will have to rent tents and decorate the inside to go along with our theme, Little Red Riding Hood (along the Grimm Fairy Tale version), but I have no idea how to turn the tents into a woodsy or enchanted forest look. I have no help from my family and my friends have no ideas either. One of them suggested I give David Tutera a call, but I can't afford him :( Does anyone have any ideas that are simple and a horrible craft person can do?

Re: How to do a DIY woodsy/enchanted forest themed wedding in a tent

• It's all about what elements you incorporate. I'd skip flowers and use ferns, moss, greenery, tree branches, etc. with some simple gold twinkle lights, lots of natural colors (think greens and earth tones), and things like the photos below. Google stuff like "woodland wedding" to get ideas. 

• You could also Google images from the movie Into The Woods.I think this is a beautiful theme. Good luck!
  • All of our wedding decor has to be free-standing at our reception, so we came up with using about a 1 foot square piece of plywood screwed to the bottom of a medium sized (ranging from 4 feet to 7 feet high to keep variety) branch (the bases are less than 2 inches in diameter, so they're skinny, but sturdy.) Then we painted them white, spray painted with gold glitter (to give the light something warm to bounce off of) then wrapped the stem in battery operated LED lights. 

You can also make paper or cloth leafs and hang them off, we're hanging battery operated lighted paper lanterns off ours.
  • Silverelf2015Silverelf2015 member
    5 Love Its First Comment
    edited March 2015
    augsum15 said: