New Jersey

Hilariously Low Budget - help?

Hey Knotties, 

So I'm a grad student and my parents will be footing the majority of the bill. I asked them what price point I should be looking for and they said $65pp for 100-120 people. I've been looking at venues for a couple of months and the lowest I've seen is around $85pp. I'm open to Friday and Sunday, and I live in Middlesex county but I am willing to travel up to an hour away. Are there any suggestions as to venues you  might have? This whole "money" thing has totally crushed my dream wedding (rustic, outdoors, DIY) and I guess I will have to go with something all-inclusive. If there is any possibility for a more out of the box place I haven't looked into, please let me know.

Thanks for the help! 

Re: Hilariously Low Budget - help?

• What places have you already looked at so that we don't recommend the same ones to you.

And to be quite honest, you can always turn down your parents offer and save the money yourselves to have the wedding you want.  Just remember, whoever pays, has a say.
    Anniversary

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Is that including tax and service charge or not?  If it's not including tax/service, the Bridgewater Manor has Saturday afternoons in 2015 for $74 or any day in December for $74 if you can chip in the difference or cut somewhere else.  Perhaps worth a call to see what the restrictions are.  If it is, I think it's going to very difficult to find a "traditional" wedding venue.

Call around to other hotels too.  Look into renting out a location and bring in a caterer.  Perhaps you can rent out a restaurant.  Look into off season, off days and off times......a Sunday afternoon in November will usually be cheaper than a Saturday evening in September.  Good luck!
  • edited March 2015