Chit Chat

probiotics?

So I've been taking penicillin for a dental abscess (that's another venting post I could write but I will spare you the drama for now) and now I'm starting to feel totally out-of-sorts with belly aches, bloating, etc. This is the first time in my entire life I've taken an antibiotic (hard to believe, but true!) so I have no prior experience. Have any of you taken probiotics when on an antibiotic and has it helped with these symptoms? I'm already eating yogurt (it's my standard breakfast choice anyway). My wedding is in 4 weeks. The tooth should be fixed by then thanks to my wonderful dentist, but I really want to do what I can to restore equilibrium to my digestive system as quickly as possible!

Re: probiotics?

• I didn't for myself but I can tell you that it worked wonders for DD when she has been on antibiotics.
  • labrolabro member
    First Anniversary First Answer First Comment 5 Love Its

My H does. It isn't successful 100% of the time. He still has days he feels like he is bloated, has tummy aches, etc. He's also on a long-term antibiotic for an eye condition and it sucks. However, being on probiotics has helped him overall versus not being on them at all.

• You can't take probiotics while you are on antibiotics.  You need to wait until a few weeks after you cease taking the antibiotics to take them. 

I take a probiotic daily.  It helped me stop getting chronic UTI's. 

• Antibiotics are known for causing tummy issues. I've used them before and they were good. 

Another alternative suggestion would be apple cider vinegar. That stuff is a miracle for my stomach. You can just dilute it with water. 
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • levioosa said:

You can't take probiotics while you are on antibiotics.  You need to wait until a few weeks after you cease taking the antibiotics to take them. 

Does it really? I get those and my doctor just gives me something to take after having sex. He never suggested probiotics.