Wedding Reception Forum
Options

Seating capacity - using some bistros vs. seated tables?

Hi all! I'm new to The Knot, but would love some outside perspective on something I've heard from multiple vendors and friends who have gotten married recently but is making me (and my mom) a bit nervous. They've mentioned not offering seating for 100% of the guests, but rather seating for about 80% and then bistro tables for the rest since not everyone will be sitting the entire time, or at the same time.

I have a large family so right now we are looking at a total invite list of about 280, and a little over 200 of those who we think will come (I think the "think they'll come" count is at 202 right now). We are recently engaged so just started looking at venues, and our favorite so far is two levels and I believe the max seating (round tables) for the bottom level is 250, but that is super packed with no dance floor. My contact there has told me they could probably do a dance floor with seating for 170 then 10 bistro tables for about 40-50. We are planning on heavy appetizers, not a plated dinner or even a full buffet dinner.

We could also offer overflow seating upstairs; the levels are stacked openly (hard to explain?) so you can still hear everything from the top level, and guests could probably peek over and see a bit of the dance floor but that's about it. I am fine with offering this but I feel like everyone will want to be downstairs for the dance and cake portion so I hate to force anyone upstairs.

Most have told me in our case of heavy appetizers, it's nothing to worry about to not offer 100% seating, but I would love some outside perspective. My cousin got married a couple years ago and told me she did 70-80% seating, and I never would have noticed, which made me feel better. I know someone who recently got married expecting 375 guests and offered seating for 300, then standing bistros for 50 and was told by their venue and planner that would be plenty. Thoughts?