Attire & Accessories Forum

Nails...gel or acrylic?

Hey everyone,
What are your thoughts on gel nails versus acrylics? I will be doing a French manicure, but don't know what to get.

Re: Nails...gel or acrylic?

• Depends on what you would like. If you have nails that break really easily/want more length I'd go with acrylics. If you have nails that are stronger/the right length I'd go with gels. 
  • I just had this conversation with my FSIL and FSMIL today. Both of them suggested gels because in their experience they last longer. FSMIL's are pretty long. I have no first-hand experience and am, at the moment, wearing Essie polish that is starting to chip after 48 hours.

I will weigh in with personal experience on french manicures, though. Take some time to figure out which pink base looks most natural on you because it comes in a bazillion shades and not all of them will look good on all people. It's not something I'd thought about before having it done at a salon; if I did it at home, I used whichever generic pink came in a kit. Since then, I've been doing them at home but I buy my white and pink separately so I can get a warmer pink.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • A million times, GEL!

Gel lasts longer, looks more natural, can be created to any length, is lighter and more flexible (doesn't chip as easily!), and easier on your natural nails than acrylic.