DIY Wedding Forum

Planning DIY wedding from scratch... where to start?

My boyfriend and I have been talking about getting married for the past two years, so I thought I had leg up. But once I got engaged it kind of all fell apart. Good news is, we haven't picked a date yet.

Issues: 

1) My church literally has no building to get married in right now (long story).

2) I planned to get married on my father's farm but realized after a recent visit he's not willing to clean it up enough (junk everywhere). My saintly stepmom has found and suggested a similar venue, but it won't be free. 

3) My parents are willing to help, but I don't have number amounts from them. Mom has agreed to buy dress and possibly cake and Dad and stepmom said they will help out "as they can."

How do I plan without a firm budget or venue?

Re: Planning DIY wedding from scratch... where to start?

• Thank you! Probably a dumb question, but I appreciate the help!
  • edited January 2016
    Ah we were all new at this at some point! Stick around, I've learnt a lot from these ladies.

• What the others have said. Without money in hand and a plan for saving, it's very difficult/impossible to plan a wedding. The best way to get started is by figuring out who you want/need to be invited and start investigating options from there.

Good luck!
    Daisypath Anniversary tickers