Wedding Woes
Options

It's an invitation, not a summons

Dear Prudence,
Do I have to go to my sister-in-law’s baby shower? I’m a first-year teacher who has virtually no extra income and really can’t afford a single thing on her wish list. I don’t know any of her friends (nor care to). I hate baby showers, and I don’t go to even my friend’s showers, nor would I have one when and if I ever get pregnant! I dislike my sister-in-law, and she knows it. I genuinely don’t think she wants me there. The real problem is my mom. This is her first grandbaby, and she is crazy about him already. She feels I should really be excited about this too, but I’m just not. Do I have to go?

—Baby Shower

Re: It's an invitation, not a summons

• Options
    Politely decline and send a card with an IOU for cleaning, babysitting, or cooking a meal. Easy-peasy.
  • Options
    edited June 2016
    If it's mutual dislike, I vote no. She could be nice and send along a card of well wishes.
    Honestly I wouldn't want someone I don't like and doesn't like me to be at a celebration, especially when it's suppose to be happy and exciting.
  • Options
    If it's mutual dislike, I vote no. She could be nice and send along a card of well wishes.
    Honestly I wouldn't want someone I don't like and doesn't like me to be at a celebration, especially when it's suppose to be happy and exciting.
    I mean, LW was invited.  So does the SIL THINK LW likes her?  Or was it one of those obligatory guilt invitations?  

SaveSave
  • Options
    bleve0821bleve0821 member
    First Anniversary First Comment First Answer 5 Love Its
    edited June 2016
    If there really is a mutual dislike here, and LW was invited out of obligation rather than out of an actual desire for her presence.... Recipe. For. Disaster. LW feels obligated to go and doesn't want to, SIL felt obligated to invite her but didn't want to... No one wins, and the hard feelings could worsen.