Getting in Shape

Just Diagnosed Hypothyroid

edited June 2016 in Getting in Shape
So in the past year or so I've packed on a good 8-10 pounds that even though I've been working out well and eating better for three months I haven't been able to lose.  I *need* to lose about 3 pounds if I'd like to sit down at my wedding.  It would also be nice to not have my dress bunch.  Either way, I definitely can't gain anymore.

I've been working really hard and doing all the right things (minus boozing it up on Friday or Saturday) and haven't seen any changes.  Last week I was diagnosed with underactive thyroid (possibly Hashimoto's - will test my blood again at the end of July for antibodies).  

I think this may explain the difficulty I've been having shedding even a couple of pounds (among other things) and am hoping that now that I'm taking medication I will start to see slow results as my levels get more regulated.

Does anyone have any experience with this?  Any tips on what works best?

Re: Just Diagnosed Hypothyroid

• Thyroid disease runs in my family. Just make sure to take your medication as prescribed because it's a bitch to get it regulated if you're willy nilly with it. 
  • MesmrEweMesmrEwe member
    First Answer First Comment 5 Love Its Name Dropper
    edited July 2016

Focus on things like lifting - and heavy, not light weights! - because you may not be able to move pounds, but you can redistribute and tone.  Tone is what will make the dress fit better, not pounds.