Chit Chat

NWR: When you lose passion for your career

I was a top student, a star student. I was told I would become a great architect by all my professors, I suck at speaking but my designs did all the talking. Now one year into my first real architecture job and I don't want to do this anymore, wtf happened?

I'm super shy, so I dread ever having to speak to clients in the future or expressing ideas, maybe that's something I'll learn, but if I could just sit alone and produce work I'd be happy. I work for one of the top firms in my city, all of my classmates were jealous of me for getting in, so I feel like I'm taking it all for granted. I wish I didn't feel this way. I spoke to my FH who is also in the same field and concluded that it may be because they don't hire enough entry level people like myself, I feel like fresh meat at every project, I always feel like an idiot, so I wish I could be around some peers with the same level of knowledge.

Every day I wait for the clock to strike 6pm and can't wait to leave, it's hard to fake excitement anymore. I see the older people at my job and I can't imagine how they've been able to do it for so long. Maybe I was at the top at school and my internship for so long that now that I'm at the bottom, I feel useless? Anyone else go through the same?
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: NWR: When you lose passion for your career

• Um what? Yes like 100% of people feel clueless and out of their depth at their first professional job. That's what being new feels like. It took me years to not feel like every day I was about to get fired. You aren't supposed to be a star anymore. Go to work, do your job, try. These are the years for putting in the time and effort to get to the fun passionate part again. 
  • MCmeowMCmeow member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Comment Name Dropper
    edited August 2016