Chit Chat
Options

Question about dyeing hair at home

edited September 2016 in Chit Chat
Quick question since I can't find a consistent answer by Googling- for any of you ladies who have experience dyeing you hair at home, how long do you need to wait between dyes? I recently dyed my hair from light blonde to medium brown and I'm loving the color but want to go just a little darker to further cover up some of the golden color that's still showing through. How long do I need to wait?

Re: Question about dyeing hair at home

• Options
    I have zero professional hair experience, but I had a section of my hair bleached for a while. It's usually very dark brown. When I decided I didn't want the bleached section anymore, I bought boxed dye in the color I usually used and did a couple applications I think maybe...2-3 weeks apart? I didn't notice any damage to my hair, and just made sure to condition it a little extra. 
  • Options
    Maybe do a glaze instead if you're concerned?

I think the main issue is not going many shades lighter at home but I don't think going darker is a big deal. I went darker and it was way more red than I wanted so I went darker the same day. Probably not the healthiest thing I could have done but I didn't experience any problems or notice a difference in my hair.

• Options
    I'd wait about a week and just make sure that you're really conditioning it well. Sleep with conditioner in if you can, or warm up some coconut oil and soak your hair with it and then put a shower cap on or wrap your head in saran wrap to seal in the heat. And then if you can take it, rinse with cold water, it'll seal the conditioner into your hair. 
    ... I've done many a bad self-dye job....
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Options