Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Plus ones for wedding party

MCmeowMCmeow member
First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Comment Name Dropper
edited September 2016 in Wedding Etiquette Forum
Hey, so I'm not sure what the general consensus is with this. We're on a tight budget so we're not giving plus one's to truly single guests. I did add plus ones to single wedding party members but my fiance doesn't like that idea. He doesn't like the idea of bringing strangers into the wedding and that they'll be alone during the ceremony and cocktail hour (We're both antisocial, so that would be a nightmare for us, but probably not for others).
Anyway, the only two single members on my side is my brother (Who of course knows everyone there), and my best friend (I've added her family to the invite and she knows my entire family and our group of friends is invited). Would you side eye them not getting a plus one? This seems like a gray area for me but I'm new to weddings so no clue...

Edit: the reasoning wouldn't just be my fiance's reasoning (Personally I think it's silly because most people aren't anti-social) but it would help us budget wise, if we can cut costs in any way without offending people.
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Plus ones for wedding party

• Options
    You don't have to, but I agree that you really should. These are people you are honoring and if they want to bring someone with them, I think you should give them the option. 

We we did this and the truly single guests in the WP didn't choose to bring anyone, but I wanted them to feel comfortable doing so if they wanted. 
  • Options
    I agree that you should. You don't have to etiquette wise, but it's nice to do since the people in your wedding party are honored guests. 
    So there are two people on your side that are single, what about your FH's side. We are talking about a handful of extra people, I don't see how that would break the bank.

• Options