Attire & Accessories Forum

Wedding band or engagement ring only??

Hello beautiful people!! I am posting to hear your thoughts on my current dilemma. My FH designed a gorgeous ring that I am absolutely in love with. We are trying to decide if I should get a wedding band in addition to the ring or just stick with the engagement ring. 

I love the aesthetic of the ring and think it is beautifully balanced by itself. I tend to not wear a lot of jewelry and I love that it is simple and not too cluttered or busy. It fits my style.

I also love the idea of having a wedding band that would be symbolic of taking the vows and actually being married (not just engaged). 

Also, a side note. I work in healthcare and frequently lift/transfer patients as well as wear gloves for procedures. If I were to get a wedding band I could wear that while working rather than my engagement ring. (Although for the past 5 months I've worn my engagement ring at work-just have to be mindful of where I place my hands during transfers/procedures). 

At this point, I think my options are to either not get one or to get one that could be worn instead of rather than with my engagement ring. I am having a hard time imagining anything that could be worn with the engagement ring that would not make it seem bulky. 

Thoughts?? Thanks in advance :)

P.S. Please excuse the dirty unpolished fingernails in the picture, he proposed in Alaska and I was not expecting it one bit! :)

Re: Wedding band or engagement ring only??

• Such a gorgeous, unique ring! I agree it might be be hard to find a band to match that unless you go custom (totally an option). There is nothing that says you have to have a wedding band, but if you do want one for the ceremony you could do something simple. 

I have an e-ring that was hard to match to a band, so I have two that the e-ring sits inside of, but they are hard to wear on their own. There are many times I wish I had one I could wear separately from my band.