Wedding Woes

Yep, adulting sucks.

Dear Prudence,
I graduated college two years ago and spent a year looking for a job in my field. I went to more than 30 interviews, got lots of positive feedback and follow-up interviews, but never a job offer. I’ve done networking events, signed up for mentors, been to job fairs, asked for advice, gone to career counselors, tried staffing agencies and found nothing. I truly am open to critique and tough love if it means I could find my way to success. I’m not even being picky at this point. I’m willing to take anything that requires a college degree and pays a living wage with a chance to move up. The problem is I’ve been working the same reception job full time since graduation and I’m really starting to resent everyone here. I took a year off from trying to find other jobs, and now I’m ready to get back to it. How do I keep my positive face on at work? Job searching stresses me out. I’m unfulfilled, unstimulated, and very unhappy.

—Staying Positive

Re: Yep, adulting sucks.

• FFS! LW should be lucky they have a job at the very least.

Keep hunting and accept the fact it's hard.
  • I'm very sympathetic!  I've been there.  And my H hasn't been able to find a job in the longest.  The only consolation I could give to the LW is the economy may have still been in the doldrums the last time he/she was looking.  It's better now and (hopefully) they will have more luck this second time around.

Maybe reach out to their boss and see if they can take on some more challenging duties.

Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Maybe consider going back to school and getting a graduate degree?  That's what I did.  And it still took a year to land a job.

"And when they use our atoms to make new lives, they won’t just be able to take one, they’ll have to take two, one of you and one of me..."
    --Philip Pullman