Wedding Woes

"We're Not Close."

My mother abandoned me when I was 13. This has had a profoundly negative impact on my life. I’m now in my 30s and have spent thousands of dollars on psychiatrists, therapists, and medication for depression. I’ve accepted it, but I can’t “get over it” the way people tell me to. Mother’s Day and the weeks leading up to it are a huge slap in the face, a constant reminder that my mother left and never came back. I’m a restaurant manager, and it’s the busiest day of the year, so it’s not an option to stay home. I absolutely hate seeing happy girls out celebrating with their moms. I just want to cry and scream and smash everything because it’s not fair that I don’t have a mom, and I will never fully understand why she left.

My question is, how do I respond when people ask if I get to spend time with my mom that day? The question angers me and I usually tell people she’s dead, just so I can see the shock on their face and make them feel sorry for me. I know it’s immature, but sometimes I wish she had died because that would mean that she hadn’t chosen to leave. What can I say to people to get them to drop the subject? Is it appropriate to just say she’s dead? It’s so much easier to explain than the real situation.

Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: "We're Not Close."

• It sounds rude, but typically I'm irked with people who act like this.
    Some people grow up with no certain parent for that day. I'm sure they aren't happy about it, but find ways to continue on.

LW needs to find a new therapist and figure out how to deal. I don't wanna say "get over it" .... and yet I do.
  • I feel bad the LW is so torn apart by her job on MD.  I think that's a bigger issue.  But, in answer to the question, she needs to understand people are just being friendly and find a way to deal with that.  There are a lot of things she can say that will shut down the conversation.