Pre-wedding Parties

Bachelorette party planning timeframe?

How far in advance does the bachelorette party need to be planned? My wedding is December 2, so almost 6 1/2 months away. It's in Vegas; none of my bridesmaids live there so they will all have to travel. Fiance and I are in the process of getting ready to move there within the next month. 

One of my maids is driving me nuts wanting decisions on everything NOW. She knows we're dealing with moving but flat out said "I know you're dealing with moving but I need to know now." 

I picked out dresses in the midst of this and now she wants to know about the bachelorette party because she "just got a new job and needs to earn and plan the PTO." I feel like it's maybe JUST A BIT early for that to be in the works, but I'm new to this (never even been someone else's bridesmaid) so am I being unreasonable? Should I be working with my MOH to nail this down now, or can I tell this maid to chill out and it'll be worked out closer to the wedding date?

FWIW, I'm probably going to suck it up and do the party a couple of days before the wedding (I'd rather do it a bit earlier, honestly) just so they don't have to travel twice. 

Re: Bachelorette party planning timeframe?

• ei34ei34 member
    First Anniversary First Comment First Answer 5 Love Its
    Doing it right before your wedding is smart, they definitely don’t need to fly to Vegas twice!

Ask your BM how many people she can host.  Then give her a guest list within that number.  A guest list and approving the date are really the bride’s only two responsibilities around a BP.

And to answer your question, 6 months out seems a touch early, the only two BP’s I threw were planned less than two months out, but they were local events.  I haven’t attended an OOT BP but it does make sense that saving up for flights/requesting time off are factored in, just as they would be for any vacation.