Texas-Houston

Any Recommendations for Geeky Wedding Venues in Houston Area?

Hi Everyone!

My fiance and I are both geeks. (He's a computer engineer and I'm a biology professor.) We're hoping to get married in Houston since that's his hometown, but I'm not too familiar with the area. Does anyone have any recommendations for wedding venues with a geeky theme to them that can handle ~150 guests and won't break the bank?

We originally looked at the new Paleo Hall at the Houston Museum of Natural Science, but they wanted $5000 for the venue plus you have to use their *expensive* caterers. So, unfortunately, that one was a no-go.

Thanks!
-Para

Re: Any Recommendations for Geeky Wedding Venues in Houston Area?

• Let me clarify that I'm looking for serious recommendations. Trolls can go back under their bridges.

In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/local-wedding-boards_texas-houston_any-recommendations-for-geeky-wedding-venues-in-houston-area?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Local%20Wedding%20BoardsForum:121Discussion:872e2431-0bf2-42c9-b8e3-6b3cdaf8547fPost:9b1a2927-db31-4920-a626-0a4a9a87eebc">Re:Any Recommendations for Geeky Wedding Venues in Houston Area?</a>:
    [QUOTE]I have the perfect venue for you and I hear it's free. Visitors Center Downtown Houston. Call and double check. visithoustontexas.com I'm not sure how many people it can hold.
    Posted by kbaltazar13[/QUOTE]
  • I have some ideas, but they're not necessarily "nerdy".  But I'm guessing you're looking for something more unique, unexpected.

Houston arboretum has an indoor venue for receptions.  I hear they're very affordable.

Majestic Metro has the movie theater feel to it--good for movie nerds!  Not a cheap rental fee, but you can bring your own food and booze.

Houston zoo does both indoor and outdoor weddings.  For 150, I think it'd have to be outside.  I'm not sure about pricing

Nouveu Antique Art bar is kind of funky.  Not nerdy, but unique.

Houston Aquarium