Wedding Vows & Ceremony Discussions

Morning wedding timeline help

My FI and want to have a morning wedding with a cake reception to follow.  We will be having a BBQ later in the afternoon for family and friends for some relaxation and hangout time (probably starting the grills up around 3).  We were also thinking of having pictures before the wedding so we can mingle with our guests right away at the reception.  What would be a good timeline?  We were originally going to have a 10:30 ceremony but that would be putting the cake around lunchtime when everyone would be wanting something more.  Any thoughts would be appreciated. 

Re: Morning wedding timeline help

• Why aren't you doing the BBQ at lunch time?  I'm confused why you'd feed your guests cake for lunch then have a gap for X period of time then an additional party at 3.  The whole plan confuses me.
  • edited March 2012
    I guess I need to provide a little more detail.  I am a teacher at my church's school, and as my FI and I are very involved with the church we are inviting the entire church (where the ceremony and reception will take place) along with our family.  If everyone came it would be upwards of 300+ attending.  We can't afford to feed that many people for lunch so we thought  we would do a cake reception following the ceremony with tea, coffee, punch and maybe some finger foods for a little more substance.  The BBQ is just for family and OOT guests and isn't a reception, just a party we would host so we can spend time with family before they leave.  We live in FL but our families are from WI and the New England area, so it would be more of a family reunion with different invitations and no wedding related activities.  We just thought the wedding day would be the best as many people will be arriving either late the night before or the day of and leaving by Sunday.  I just put in the time of the BBQ to try to figure out timing issues for the ceremony, cake reception and pictures, etc.  We wanted