Tennessee
Options

Smoky Mtn destination wedding!

Hi everyone! I am totally new to the boards so this is my very first post.

We are planning a May 2012 Destination wedding to the smoky mountains.. I need some ideas/tips/btdts! This is the 2nd marriage for both of us and we just want to get away and have a nice simple wedding with our wedding party and closest friends and family present. I'm thinking either a cabin wedding or a chapel wedding with a cabin for the reception. We are 6-7 hours away and I am a full time student so we cant just take off and go down there to check it all out so if anyone has had a wedding down there, or knows some reputable places to start with that would realllly help me out! There are SO many websites for cabin weddings etc but we all know that sometimes the pictures aren't really what it looks like. We would like to try to get down there before the big day but I am trying to finish my Bachelors and will also be taking summer classes so I will literally have NO extra time to be taking a vacation that far away.

So if anyone has a good place to start... I would really appreciate it!!

Re: Smoky Mtn destination wedding!

• Options
    karen3045karen3045 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Well I am getting married with Above the mist weddings (also on facebook for a peek). They have been very sweet and they have a few locations to pick from. We decided to do a chapel wedding with a solo violinist 12/28/10. I initially booked a room thru the Sidney James Mountian Lodge for 200 for the whole day and night!!! YOu have to get your own food and decorations though. (Above the mist will reccommend you this facility to be booked thru them but they charge more than doing it directly.) Just keep in mind that everything has a price down there and you should look high and low to find what you are looking for at a reasonable fee. Good Luck!!!
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    Getting married at Eagle Rock Camp/ Lodge