Wedding Vows & Ceremony Discussions

incorporating students in my wedding

This is my very first post! I am a teacher and would love to incorporate some of my former students into the ceremony. Does anyone have any ideas? I also tutor a few children and would like them to do something special other than being flower girls/ring bearers. I was thinking some could hand out programs, but after that I am lost. Any ideas would be great!

Re: incorporating students in my wedding

• In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/wedding-boards_ceremony-ideas_incorporating-students-wedding?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Wedding%20BoardsForum:10Discussion:8af6a05e-cf88-41bb-91c1-c5d5b6f29968Post:3528bbcf-3d6e-420c-b823-55331974685c">incorporating students in my wedding</a>:
    [QUOTE]This is my very first post! I am a teacher and would love to incorporate some of my former/current students into the ceremony. Does anyone have any ideas? I also tutor a few children and would like them to do something special other than being flower girls/ring bearers. I was thinking some could hand out programs, but after that I am lost. Any ideas would be great!
    Posted by chica368[/QUOTE]

I think your heart is in the right place, but I think it's a misguided thought.  Have you really thought all this through?  Just so you know where I'm coming from, I'm a long time teacher and my DD is a teacher as is my DIL.

IF  you ask some students, you risk offending the families of those you don't invite.  You send a very clear message that you like some students more than others when you do that.  And then by giving some "jobs" at the wedding, you draw that line even more firmly.

How are you going to explain to Jason that Matthew is going to hand out programs at the wedding, but he's not?  How do you tell Ashley that she's a flower girl, but Jessica isn't?  And more, how do justify that to their parents?