Texas-Austin
Options

Hairstylist and Makeup Recommendations

Who would you recommend for hair and makup?  I would love to get ready onsite (Mansion at Judges Hill) but if we have to, we can be at a salon.  There will be three bridesmaids, two flowergirls, two mothers, and myself.
dscf4745-2
Anniversary

Re: Hairstylist and Makeup Recommendations

• Options
    Well, I had my hair done at JcPenny and my makeup done with Chelsea at The Body Shop at the mall.She was amazing. I know you are looking for on site, sorry I cant help with that.
  • Options
    You should ask around the makeup counter at the mall or dept stores like macys. I found a few girls there who do freelance makeup work but havent picked anyone for the day just yet.
  • Options
    I am actually wondering the same! I've read good things about Green Alley Hair Salon and Orbit Salon, but haven't actually heard anyone on the boards talk about them. Since I'm a newbie to Austin, I'd love to hear more about other people's experiences/recommendations!
  • Options
    Jenmfernandez, welcome to Austin!  You'll love it here.  How long ago did you land in this great city?

I've never heard of Green Alley or Orbit so I'll have to check them out.  I've looked into a few of the different vendors listed on this site, and they are all coming back at around $1k for onsite hair and makeup for 6 adults and 2 flower girls.  I think that is a bit high, but I guess if they are all charging that, then it's the norm.  I'm thinking I might just stick with the salon that I go to for haircuts and color, Keep Austin Gorgeous, but another girl posted on here saying that she had a horrible experience with them.  I've been extremely happy with my stylist since the first time I went there, so it's a little conflicting.

This is turning out to be more stressful than it should be, and since I have time (Wedding in October) I think I am just going to step away and come back to this later.