Military Brides

Band My Mother Booked Without My Input BERATED Me For NO REASON!! Is There Something I Can/Should D

Hi all:

This is my first time posting here.  I was engaged in June to my BF, an Air Force 2nd Lt. (he just got his commission last may and was enlisted for 8 years prior).  Our wedding is Memorial Day weekend of next year.

I have a very busy job--- Because of this my mom pretty much "took over" the wedding planning.  She doesn't work and thought it would be fun--- I thought this was great and was very grateful for the help.  We had a few run-ins about different things (like when she picked all my flowers without discussing any of it with me and none of the flowers she picked matched the bridesmaids dresses I picked... she refused to think about any of the reception venues I suggested, etc.), but mostly I trusted her to pick vendors that were going to be good and to do a good job.

I recently hired a wedding coordinator just to do some coordinating on the week-of (meeting with the florist, showing people where to go, etc.).  My mom told me she "wanted to cry" when I did this, but eventually came around to seeing that she would want to relax on the week of.  My coordinator is fantastic and willing to help out with suggestions, etc. up until the wedding, too--- we meet this week and she was so helpful.

After meeting with my coordinator, I called the brass band my mother booked (without my input, I have never heard a CD or anything of them) to discuss the possibility of doing a second line.  We live in New Orleans and second lines are a very popular tradition-- it's like a street parade. My coordinator said that we should think about doing one because they are always a hit with guests and our original transportation plans fell through so we thought it would be fun to do one from the church to the reception hall (Less than a mile/10 blocks, 13 minute walk).