Military Brides

Date Debacle...

After just recently getting engaged my fiancé and I are now at a deadlock about setting a date.

We have been together for over 4 years (2 before the Army, and now 2+ after), and have talked about getting married a lot, and made some “wouldn’t this be nice” kind of plans. Now that we’re actually engaged, however, reality has reared its ugly head and he’s set on those (what I thought were) fun plans. Currently I am a sophomore in college and he is stationed in Germany, with just over 2 years left in his enlistment. We will both be done in May 2013. Our “fun” plans call for getting married in the summer of 2012, honeymooning, and then me staying in Germany for a month or two before heading back to school. (If I move to Germany he has to enlist and stay in Germany for an extra year…) Realistically it makes more sense to get married once were reunited in the States, in 2013, but we’ve both had our hearts set on 2012 for almost a year. It’s a battle of head versus heart and I am torn.

After looking into it we’ve found out that our fun plans will be very expensive once it comes to me staying in Germany, so we probably we only have the money for a few weeks. And then it would be a year and a half living apart. He would hopefully be home for Christmases, and I’m sure we’d see each other a few other times, but it’s not like we would have a place of our own or anything, and it would only be a few weeks at a time. That doesn’t sound very fun.

If we wait until 2013 we wait what feels like forever, but we would actually be together before and after the wedding.