Wedding Vows & Ceremony Discussions

What would you do?

My DF and I are not religious. Not in the slightest bit. We always planned on having our ceremony at our venue.

But...and this is a big but!

I am a dance teacher at the studio I grew up in. I cannot imagine having my wedding and the kids not being able to come see me get married. We are all very close, but I obviously cannot invite 100 kids to my reception so the ceremony is the closest they can get.

So then I figured we have to get married in a church so they can come.

Is that really my only option or is there something I am not thinking of? The only other thing I can think of is going to a venue where we get married on the beach, but out of all the venues we are considering that is only 1.

Any ideas at all?!

Re: What would you do?

• I personally think your personal life is your personal life and that being a dance teacher is your professional life.  I am a strong believer in keeping your personal life and your professional life separate.

I am a teacher.  My DIL is a teacher.  My DD was a teacher.  We didn't invite children to our wedding.  And everyone understood that.

And if you invite 100 students, you certainly have to invite at least 1 parent to come with them.  So that puts it at between 200-300 additional people on your guest list.  I don't know what your number is without the kids, but that's an awful lot of people.

Now....let's get into the issue that it's rude to have a huge ceremony, and then only invite "selected" guests to the reception.  That is just poor form under any circumstances.

And now let's move on to the issue of "using" a church because it's a big enough venue to sit your adoring fan club.  I work in a church, so I admit up front that this makes me crazy.  But you're self described "non religious~not the slightest bit".