Not Engaged Yet

Pinterest/Design Help

So I saw this on Pinterest, showed it to FI, and decided it was a fun idea.  Now I need to work on actually getting started on it.

I work at a university library and the lib computers seem to have basically every design program available.  So last night I played around in Illustrator and came up with this design.

It is a pretty good start (I think), but it definitely needs some work with spacing, centering, adding better margins, etc.  This was just a trial run.  Thoughts?  How do I make fancy borders that aren't just rectangles (like the one in the pinterest pic)? Do I just draw them using the line tools?  How do I add fancy flourishes?  I am a total newb at this.

Also, does anyone have any tips/resources for using Illustrator?  Would I be better off using MS Publisher or something else?  If I am going to take the time to learn a program, I'd like to learn the best program.  Will I be able to learn enough to design our own STD, invites, etc or is this a terrible idea?
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Pinterest/Design Help

• Cute, are those your colors??

H is a web designer and did all of our paper stuffs and the wedding website. It can be very time consuming and stressful, but I imagine one could say the same thing for having to select such stuffs from the resources available for purchase. How many months do you have left?

There are a lot of free downloads for the little designy lines and shapes, I can ask him to suggest some to recommend to you. Though others on here may know other ways to recreate the Pin you found.

:)

• Thanks, Jen!  We still have over a year, so hopefully that will be enough time.  Yes, those are our colors, navy and bright pink/a range of pinks.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • I have no idea on how to do the designing element or anything but that is such a cute idea!!!!

Anniversary