Not Engaged Yet

Did you have to deal with this issue?

So today I went to church for the first time with BF. My cousin had invited us to her church for "Friend Day" and to be supportive, I agreed to go and asked BF to go as well. 

Now I was raised Baptist and I still consider myself a Baptist, even though I don't really go to church anymore or pray all that regularly....I guess I'm not very good at practicing my religion :p

Anyway, BF was raised Episcopalian but now he considers himself an atheist. I've known this since we first started dating and didn't really have a problem with it. I respect his beliefs and he respects mine and we both don't try to convert each other. 

The problem is, there will be times when I need to go to church and I would like BF to go with me, mainly to keep me company. And also because of my family. They don't know that he is an atheist and would greatly disapprove of him if they knew. 

I told him that I didn't expect him to change his beliefs, I just wanted him to go with me, mainly for social reasons...and now that I'm typing this out, it sounds bad. Sigh. 

Anyway, BF is fine with all this as long as we only go to church once in a while and not on a regular basis. However, I was surprised by his behavior this morning. He was not friendly and didn't smile when people introduced themselves. He was very standoffish, almost to the point of being rude. During Sunday school class, he sent me a text saying that he was having a hard time cranking his hostility back. The entire time, he just had this stone-faced expression like he did not want to be there. And after church, he said he had been so incredibly bored. 

I'm just not sure how to deal with this. Did y'all have to deal with this issue? How did you handle it? 

ETA: Sorry for the formatting issue, I typed this out on my iPad. I'm on my laptop now and trying to fix it but TK won't let me :(
Daisypath Anniversary tickers

Re: Did you have to deal with this issue?