August 2012 Weddings

Skipping a period?

I am on BC and I'm scheduled to get my period on the honeymoon! I obviously don't want that. Is it safe to just start a new pack when the old one is finished?

Re: Skipping a period?

• You need to talk to your doctor about what is safe or not safe for you.  No one on a wedding forum should give you "medical advice".  Has this been done, yes.  But no one knows your body but you and your doctor.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Yup just skip the placebo pills - you may still have spotting though since it's the first time you're doing it. Good luck!!!
    Daisypath Anniversary tickers
  • Yes it's safe to skip the placebo pills in you BC and not have your cycle during your honeymoon.  I used to do it all the time when I was on BC.  When you are scheduled to start your placebo pills start a new pack of pills.  But since I am not a doctor, I suggest that you contact your Dr. to confirm that it is safe for you and your present health.
    image 141 Are ready to party!
    weddingcountdown.com Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • I would check with your doctor, but last year when I went to Mexico and had the same question, my doctor told me it is just fine to skip the week of placebo pills to avoid my period.
  • If you have never done this before, you should talk to your healthcare provider before attempting, just in case there is a reason that this is not a good idea for you.  However, I have been on birth control for years and every now and then will skip a period just for convince sake.  I am actually due for my period this weekend (during my wedding), but am planning on skipping.
    PersonalMilestone Daisypath Anniversary tickers image