Wedding Cakes & Food Forum

An Hors D'Ouvres-Only Reception: Tacky or Tasty?

I've been hunting around for venues for a few months now, pretty set on just going with a place that features their own caterer AND I had my heart set on a buffet.

I love the idea of a buffet because I know for me, I love a variety.  But this one venue has an hors d'ouvres option that might be swaying me.  Tell me what you think, here's the quick breakdown:

They let you choose 6 HDs from a nice selection of hot and cold.
Comes with a stationary station of fruits and veggies.
You can choose a cuisine station (risotto, salad, pasta- all are pretty heavy-sounding)
You also get a carving station (pork, beef, turkey).

The main reason I'm seriously considering this is because the price difference is pretty amazing. $87 per person for food and 4-hour open bar, as opposed to $102 for a buffet and bar.

The savings is nice, but I don't want my guests to go home hungry!

Anyone ever considered this as an option?  Anyone ever been to a reception that did this, and if so, what did you think?  Help! 

Re: An Hors D'Ouvres-Only Reception: Tacky or Tasty?

• Hors D'Ouvres only is not tacky. However you need to make sure you have enough food or the time of day.     If it's meal time you should have 15-17 pieces of food per person.

What differentiates an average host and a great host is anticipating unexpressed needs and wants of their guests.  Just because the want/need is not expressed, doesn't mean it wouldn't be appreciated. 
  • Your plan is perfect. I like stations as there are no lines. It sounds like plenty of food.
  • As long as it's enough food to equal a meal (if your reception is at a mealtime), then you are good
  • I have been to several hors d'ouvres only receptions.   The sucessful  ones had plenty of seating, appetizer sized portions, and appropriate silverware.