Getting in Shape

Getting in Shape!

Hi everyone,

I am new to the getting in Shape board and the knot in general. I still have less than two years until our wedding, but why wait to lose weight. I am slightly overweight for my age and I want to change that. I have done Zumba 2-3 times a week for the past year and a half and have lost about 10 pounds. However I feel like I am stuck. Zumba is very fun but doing the same class every week it starts to become repetitive and my body is noticing it.
About 2 weeks ago I have cut down Zumba to 1 class a week and joined bootcamp classes 3 times a week. I am enjoying the core, conditioning, cardio and weights aspect of bootcamp but I have gained weight! I do track my eating and i have slightly increased my calorie intake to 1400 per day. I'm sure it is just my body gaining muscle, but I would love to get your ideas about it!

Thank you!

Created by MyFitnessPal - Free Weight Loss Tools

Daisypath Wedding tickers

Re: Getting in Shape!

• Welcome!  You certainly have the right approach in not waiting, and it sounds like you've done a great job getting started!

I do agree with your weight gain comments (that it has to do with gaining muscle.)  I would really suggest taking your measurements once a month, rather than solely relying on the scale. Your body is going to go through a lot of changes, and in gaining muscle, you're not always going to be losing weight.  Taking measurements will more accurately reflect the fat loss, and may help you see things more positively even when the scale seems to have it out for you.
    If you need some more classes, try spin and body pump, too.  Also try venturing out onto the floor and trying some weight circuits on your own, or maybe set out on your own challenge with something like C25K (essentially, a learn to run a 5k program).