Getting in Shape

breakfast shakes

I always struggle with breakfast. I really need something that is grab and go and also something that is filling enough so I'm not starving by lunch time because I really don't get a chance to snack at all in between breakfast and lunch. 

I was thinking about trying a protein shake mix. I thought it would be something I could throw in a water bottle and drink in my car. I have no experience with this. What are your thoughts?  Any you would recommend?  If you don't like them any quick and easy breakfast tips would be a huge help!

Re: breakfast shakes

• I usually make a smoothie with my protein powder. I blend ice, a frozen sliced banana, protein powder, and a mix of regular and chocolate almond milk. It only takes a couple of minutes to blend and is definitely grab and go. :)
  • If I'm going to do a breakfast shake I usually do:

1 banana
    1 scoop chocolate protein powder
    3/4 C skim milk
    1 Tbsp PB

I blend those together in my Magic Bullet knockoff and I'm good to go.

You'd need more than just protein powder in the mornings.  Just a scoop of protein powder, even mixed with milk just wouldn't be enough nutrients to get you through the morning.

Personally, even having a good, filling breakfast, I still need to eat a mid-morning snack.  Would you be able to do something quick like an apple and a handful of nuts?

We'll just not tell H about this little fact, m'kay?
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • You can even make the smoothie the night before.  It may separate a little bit, but you can miz it back up.  I wouldn't recommend making it more than 12 hours in advance though.

Things like carnation instant breakfast aren't a substitute for breakfast, because I think they're not fillling enough.  It makes a nice morning snack though.  yum chocolate.