Getting in Shape

Newbie here :)

Hi everyone ! I just wanted to quickly introduce myself :) I am currently on a quest to lose about 60 lbs by the end of August....... it has been an uphill battle thus far unfortunately. For the past 3 weeks I have been consistently going to the gym 5x a week and I only eat fish fresh veggies and fruit but somehow I have managed to GAIN 1 pound..... frustrating as everything but I am not giving up so hoping to find some motivation and ladies to talk to here

Re: Newbie here :)

• edited January 2013
    HI and welcome!  

Remember that our bodies retain water and so your weight can fluctuate by as much as 4% of your body weight over the course of the month, so don't freak out over one pound. Instead chart your long-term progress rather than day-to-day or even week-to-week.

Are you tracking calories? What workouts are you doing? You may be over-exercising, which can cause your body to hold on to fat. If you do lots of steady-state cardio, make sure to stay in the 60-75% of max HR zone. It is also very likely that you've gained muscle from exercising, which is why the scale is showing a weight increase. Can you see or feel a difference in your body? Are your clothes fitting differently?

Also, to truly accurately chart your weight progression, make sure to weigh yourself at the same time of day. Water retention affects the scale, and I've also noticed that so does the post-workout hormonal response. I only weigh myself once a month - always right after my TOM has passed (so I'm not retaining water), in the morning the day after a non-workout day (so the lactic acid and whatnot isn't weighing down the scale, either). I've found that that gives me the most accurate (and by that I mean the lowest) scale reading. I'm sure you can tune in to your own body's peculiarities too, and find ways of getting the most consistent readings.

• edited January 2013