Getting in Shape

What's YOUR running shoe?

Hey all! I've been running for a few years now and am wondering if I have been using the right shoe. I get shin splints fairly easily, so I am looking for a new shoe with high shock absorbtion and good support, but lightweight at the same time. Any recommendations? Thanks!!
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: What's YOUR running shoe?

• The only people that can tell you if you're using the right shoe is someone who can see your feet and your gait in person.  Go to a running specialty store (like RUnning Room) and talk to them.

I will tell you that I had god awful shin splits forever that improved considerably after I was fit for shoes.  Not to mention I started spending about $30 less on my shoes. 

Everything the light touches is my kingdom.
  • I wear Adidas exclusively and FI wear New Balance  exclusively we both swear by our brands
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • I went to a marathon sports store and was fitted for the Mizuno Wave Rider.  My advice?  Get fitted, everyone's feet are different and everyone had different foot/shin/knee issues.  Make sure they actually watch you not only walk but run if you do go.  Also, a good store will let you take them for a quick "spin" in the parking lot.  
  • I've been running in Asics Gel -Lyte33 for about a month now. I bought this because like PPs were saying I actually went to a sports store that specialized in running shoes. They actually watched me run on a treadmill and picked out the best type of shoe for me.
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic Daisypath Anniversary tickers Follow Me on Pinterest