Favors
Options

Ideas for small thinking of yous???

Nick and I have decided that instead of giving out favors, we are going to make a donation to a fellow pit bull rescue. Nick and I have been rescuing pit bulls for the past 4 years and feel it is more our style than cheap wedding favors. In my experience they are usually turned into garbage.  we are going to make homemade dog cookies and put them in little brown paper doggie bags with a nice tag telling people a donation was made in their name to Mike's Dog House.  
We do want to have a little something as a thought for our guests. We were actually thinking of doing rock candy but would love some more ideas on the subject, since not everyone can have that. What do you think?

Re: Ideas for small thinking of yous???

• Options
    Give the cookie.  Don't mention the charity.  I'm sorry but this is a total AW move that B&Gs do to show how generous they are.  If you really care about the charity and not showing off the donation, then donate the money without making mention of it.

Also - unless you are planning on filling out paperwork in the name of every single guest (ie - one form multiplied by your number of guests), you are not making a donation in their name.  A charity donation is not a favor; don't pretend that it is.
    AKA GoodLuckBear14
  • Options
    PeavyPeavy member
    5 Love Its First Comment
    edited January 2012
    Ditto tldh.  And I'll go one farther -- if you really want to donate to charity, take the money you would have spent on the dog biscuits, and add that to it.  I have absolutely no use for a dog biscuit, since I don't have a dog.  Just skip the favors, you don't need to tell anyone what you did with the money.
  • Options