Wedding Photography and Videography Forum

Photos Before of After the Ceremony?

Hello All, I was wondering about thoughts on doing photos before or after the ceremony. I am leaning towards having them done before, but I was looking to get some other opinions.

Re: Photos Before of After the Ceremony?

• Hi! I'm a local photographer here in Kansas City and I think it helps to do photos before the ceremony so that you are not rushing to the reception, late or loosing light. 
    My brides usually choose to do a first look after getting ready they can see each other before the ceremony to do their pictures. 
    I highly recommend it! Especially if you are a photo lover.
    The weddings that I shoot without a first look usually get between 600-800 images back, whereas the weddings with first looks get between 800-1,000 images back!
    Hope that helps!
    Terri
  • We decided a month before the wedding to do a First Look and take all our photos before the ceremony and we did not regret it.  All the stress just melted away once we saw each other and we could relax during our photos.

If you don't want to do a first look, you can still take a good amount of pictures before the ceremony.  Just do all the ones you can that don't have both you and your FI in them (you with your BMs, the GMs, and family, him with his GMs, your BMs, family, etc.).
  • We are doing all of ours after the ceremony.  I don't want him to see me before the wedding, and when I asked him his opinion (without telling him mine) he said he didn't want to see me before the wedding. 

But it is to each their own.  Do what works for you and I'm sure you won't regret whatever decision you make.