Wedding Photography and Videography Forum

Engagement Photos?

Hi! I am a bride-to-be as of 06/13/11 :) My fiance and I have been telling as many people as we can about our engagement. Between the two of us I think we have told just about all of our friends and family and possibly even a few random strangers! That being said, are engagement photo's/announcements necessary? I am new to the wedding scene and I am not sure if I still need to get these done? Help! Please and thank you!!

Re: Engagement Photos?

• edited December 2011
    Congratulations!  What an exciting time.  Neither are necessary.  It depends on your objectives.  We didn't do announcements nor engagement photos and we have no regrets.

I would encourage caution if you want to do engagement announcements.  You should only send them to people you would want to invite to your wedding.  However, it sounds like everyone already knows so there's no need for this.

As for engagement photos, some people like to do them.  It gives you photos to use in Save The Dates, your website, other wedding-related decorations, etc.  Some people also highly recommend to do them with the photographers that are shooting your wedding so you can get to know them, get comfortable in front of the camera, and look at the style of photos they deliver before the actual day.  Again, they're not necessary but sometimes a nice luxury.
  • edited December 2011