Registry and Gift Forum

do you need to register?

my fiance and i have been living together for a couple years now and have everything we need. instead of making a registery for things we dont need/want we would rather have money as a gift.how do we go about letting our guests know that we aren't having a registery but prefer money?

Re: do you need to register?

• I was invited to a shower (along with a wedding) where all they had a was a cash registry and made it clear all they wanted was cash; it was so rude!! How do you have a shower were all the bride does is open cards (with either cash or checks inside). At one point they were showing how much each person gave!!!! I was a student (still in college) and so I only gave $40 for each ($40 for shower and $40 for wedding). I'm sure many people thought that was super cheap; but I thought that was pretty nice for being a college student without a job. The bride told me and some other people that its a cultural thing that all her family only gives cash for weddings (she is first generation American) and that most people give a good amount because you only get married once.
    I much prefer buying gifts because then I can buy something that I think would be useful and meaningful (even off of a registry -- I try to find something in my price range that I would use). I love the idea that when I get my wedding gifts I will be able to think about the person who gave it every time I use it even though I actually picked it out.