Wedding Hair, Makeup, & Beauty Forums

Nail question

I want my nails done for my wedding.  I work as a goldsmith so my natural nails are in terrible shape, no matter how hard I try to keep them looking half decent.  My problem is, I am horribly allergic to acrylic.  I've heard of gel nails, but isn't that just a polish they put on to make them shinnier or something?  I am looking for nails that are going to last 5-7 days without acrylic.  Any thoughts?

Re: Nail question

• There is gel polish as well as gel nails. Gel nails are similar to acrylics, as in the gel is put over top of tips. The tips are glued onto your natural nail, then the gel is applied over them. The gel is then set with a UV light.
    Photobucket BabyFruit Ticker
  • You may also look into getting Shellac. I don't know much about it, but it's a medium between gel and acryllic (I think).
  • get gel nails, but there are a lot of "fakes" go for LCN brand...I usually don't say that cause they are overpriced, but if you are allergic to acrylic it is the best solution.

here is their site http://store.lcnusa.com/
  • Do you want tips or just a polish that won't chip? If it's a polish, then go for Shellac or Gelish. It will last you a good two weeks. If you want tips, then ask for gel nails, but but absolutely clear that you are allergic to acrylic.

I asked for gel nails once and wanted a certain color. The nail tech didn't tell me that the color I picked was acrylic, not gel, so I had horribly itchy fingers for four days.

By the way, I have been using Gelish continuously since September, and the only time I've had an issue is from skin contact with the uncured gel (because I do it myself, I'm not as neat as a professional). Even then, it's not as bad as my reaction to acrylic.
  • I want a full set of nails.  My natural nails are in terrible shape from work so just painting them won't really work.